Information below is in PDF format, and can be viewed, saved and printed as needed.
Texas Felony Case Procedure General Outline
Texas Community Supervision (Probation) Violation General Outline
Avoiding “Ignition Interlock” Violations
Why does the attorney refuse to speak with me about my family member’s criminal case?
Proper Conduct and Dress in the Courtroom
Some Important Consequences from Felony Convictions
Collin County Courthouse Info
For Your Consideration
Frequently Asked Questions
How soon do I need to hire a lawyer on a criminal case?
The bail bond company wants you to hire a lawyer as soon as possible so that they know that your court appearances are being met. The court wants you to have an attorney so that your case move efficiently on their docket. The court personnel do not have time to explain procedures and options to you. The police began working against you even before a decision was made to arrest and charge you. The prosecutor has witness statements, other evidence and knowledge of law and procedure to use against you. You need an attorney standing up for you as soon as possible. (Caveat: If you are charged with a DWI, you must demand a license suspension hearing within 15 days of your arrest or you automatically suffer a lengthy suspension.) Many attorneys, myself included, do not charge for an initial consultation and you should take advantage of that opportunity to get answers to your concerns and questions and to be warned of deadlines and collateral consequences.
How will I be billed?
I do not charge for an initial consultation. I very rarely bill on an hourly basis. I establish an attorney fee for legal services expected to be required for each step and option as your case proceeds procedurally. Attorney fees are established and negotiated on a case-by-case basis. The fees I charge are reasonable, customary, and competitive because I have primarily built my law practice by referrals from previous clients and other attorneys. I seldom find my fee to be the lowest nor highest quoted to a prospective client. I try to maintain a reasonable overhead and I am able to work efficiently because I have over 35 years experience.
How can my attorney fee be financed?
We accept cash, personal checks, business checks, endorsed payroll checks, money orders, MasterCard, Visa, American Express and Discover cards. If necessary, I will attempt to arrange a workable payment plan with you.
Can my case be dismissed if the police did not read me my rights?
The police officer’s failure to read you your “Miranda rights” is relevant to suppression of evidence and does not assure a dismissal of your case. Your “Miranda rights” only apply if you are arrested and interrogated. Evidence obtained as a result of a “Miranda” violation is subject to being suppressed. Based upon reasonable suspicion that you may be involved in criminal activity, a police officer may require you to identify yourself and explain your presence and activities. The officer may ask you questions to determine the circumstances in which you are found. You have a constitutional right to not answer the questions about your actions, but if you refuse to identify yourself the officer may find grounds to make an arrest.
Will my driver's license be suspended as a result of my arrest?
We need to talk. Your Texas driver’s license can be suspended under circumstances that have nothing to do with driving an automobile, such as, being convicted of spraying graffiti or possessing small quantities of marijuana.
How should I dress for court?
Dress as though you were going to a nice event or job interview. Men should wear dress pants, dress shoes and a long sleeve dress shirt. You can never go wrong with a conservative suit and tie. Women should wear a conservative and modest dress, skirt or pants. Hats, shorts, t-shirts and sandals are not allowed in court. Beverages, food, chewing gum, texting, cell phone use and newspaper reading are not allowed in court. Small children should not be taken to court.